XMM-Newton Announcement of Opportunity: Policies and Procedures

next up previous contents
Next: 7.3.2 Review Process and Selection Criteria Up: 7.3 Scientific Review Previous: 7.3 Scientific Review

7.3.1 Observing Time Allocation Committee

All ``Open Time'' proposals will be reviewed by the OTAC. This committee is appointed by the ESA Director of Science. It is headed by a chairperson and consists of one to three panels for each of the following scientific categories:

  1. Stars, White Dwarfs, Solar System, and Exoplanets
  2. White Dwarf Binaries, Neutron Star Binaries, Cataclysmic Variables, ULXs and Black Holes
  3. Supernovae, GRBs, Supernova Remnants, Diffuse (Galactic) Emission and Isolated Neutron Stars
  4. Active Galactic Nuclei, Quasars and BL-Lac Objects
  5. Galaxies, Groups of Galaxies, Clusters of Galaxies and Superclusters
  6. Cosmology, Extragalactic Deep Fields and Large Extragalactic Areas

Each panel consists of 5 members including the panel chairperson.

European Space Agency - XMM-Newton Science Operations Centre